The Rural Child Poverty Nutrition Center's work focuses on families with children who live in persistently poor counties in 15 states. The RCPNC's goal is to help these families by increasing their participation in USDA-FNS Child Nutrition programs and other nutrition assistance programs.

Grant Announcement

The Rural Child Poverty Nutrition Center (RCPNC) at the University of Kentucky announces the availability of funding for projects that use creative strategies to increase coordination among United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Food and Nutrition Services (FNS) Child Nutrition programs and other nutrition assistance programs.

USDA Nutrition Assistance Programs targeted for improved coordination include:
  • Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC)
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
  • School Breakfast Program (SBP)*
  • National School Lunch Program (NSLP)*
  • Summer Food Service Program (SFSP)*
  • Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP)*
  • Food Distribution Program on Indian Reservations (FDPIR)

*USDA - FNS Child Nutrition Program

The project is aimed at families with children who live in 324 persistently poor counties in 15 states. Its goal is to increase those families' participation in USDA-FNS Child Nutrition Programs and other nutrition assistance programs. Through the grant funding, communities will improve program coordination among various nutrition assistance programs, which is expected to result in improved rates of program participation. Government or non-profit organizations at the state or local (city or county) level located in the eligible counties (listed below) in the 15 states with the highest number of persistently poor counties may apply for up to $100,000 to implement their project. While the maximum amount that can be requested for consideration under an individual grant application is $100,000, the minimum amount that can be requested is $50,000. Up to 25 grantees will be selected. Special consideration will be given to areas with large Native American populations and Tribal districts.

Details about the grant are in the Request for Applications (RFA). To download this PDF (197KB), please CLICK HERE.

If your organization meets eligibility criteria and you would like to apply, please visit the Applications page for more information.

15 States with the Highest Number
of Persistently Poor Counties

Click on a state to see its eligible counties.

State Persistently Poor Counties
Alabama Barbour Lowndes
Bullock Macon
Butler Marengo
Choctaw Monroe
Clarke Perry
Conecuh Pickens
Dallas Pike
Escambia Sumter
Greene Wilcox
State Persistently Poor Counties
Arkansas Bradley Monroe
Chicot Nevada
Columbia Newton
Crittenden Phillips
Desha Poinsett
Jefferson St. Francis
Lafayette Searcy
Lee Woodruff
State Persistently Poor Counties
Georgia Atkinson Johnson
Bacon Macon
Baker Marion
Ben Hill Mitchell
Brooks Peach
Harris Quitman
Bulloch Randolph
Burke Screven
Calhoun Seminole
Clarke Stewart
Clay Sumter
Clinch Talbot
Crisp Taliaferro
Decatur Tattnall
Dooly Taylor
Dougherty Telfair
Madison Terrell
Early Toombs
Emanuel Treutlen
Evans Turner
Grady Ware
Greene Warren
Hancock Washington
Jefferson Wheeler
Jenkins Wilcox
State Persistently Poor Counties
Kentucky Bath Leslie
Bell Letcher
Breathitt Lewis
Casey Lincoln
Clay McCreary
Clinton Magoffin
Cumberland Martin
Elliott Menifee
Estill Monroe
Floyd Morgan
Fulton Owsley
Harlan Perry
Hart Powell
Jackson Robertson
Johnson Rockcastle
Knott Rowan
Knox Russell
Laurel Wayne
Lawrence Whitley
Lee Wolfe
State Persistently Poor Counties
Louisiana Acadia Natchitoches
Avoyelles Orleans
Bienville Ouachita
Catahoula Red River
Claiborne Richland
Concordia Sabine
East Carroll St. Helena
East Feliciana St. Landry
Evangeline Tangipahoa
Franklin Tensas
Lincoln Washington
Madison West Carroll
Morehouse Winn
State Persistently Poor Counties
Mississippi Adams Leake
Amite Leflore
Attala Lowndes
Benton Marion
Bolivar Marshall
Chickasaw Montgomery
Choctaw Neshoba
Claiborne Noxubee
Clarke Oktibbeha
Clay Panola
Coahoma Pike
Copiah Quitman
Covington Scott
Forrest Sharkey
Franklin Simpson
Grenada Sunflower
Holmes Tallahatchie
Humphreys Tunica
Issaquena Walthall
Jasper Washington
Jefferson Wayne
Jefferson Davis Wilkinson
Kemper Winston
Lafayette Yalobusha
Lauderdale Yazoo
State Persistently Poor Counties
Missouri Carter Ripley
Dunklin Shannon
Mississippi Texas
New Madrid Washington
Oregon Wayne
Pemiscot Wright
Reynolds St. Louis
State Persistently Poor Counties
New Mexico Cibola Roosevelt
Doña Ana San Miguel
Guadalupe Socorro
Luna Taos
State Persistently Poor Counties
North Carolina Bertie Northampton
Bladen Pitt
Columbus Robeson
Halifax Tyrrell
Martin Washington
State Persistently Poor Counties
Oklahoma Adair Hughes
Caddo Johnston
Cherokee McCurtain
Choctaw Okfuskee
Coal Pushmataha
Harmon Tillman
State Persistently Poor Counties
South Carolina Allendale Jasper
Bamberg Lee
Clarendon Marion
Colleton Marlboro
Dillon Orangeburg
Hampton Williamsburg
State Persistently Poor Counties
South Dakota Bennett Mellette
Buffalo Roberts
Charles Mix Shannon
Corson Todd
Dewey Ziebach
State Persistently Poor Counties
Tennessee Campbell Hancock
Claiborne Johnson
Cocke Lake
Fentress Scott
State Persistently Poor Counties
Texas Bee Kleberg
Brazos Lamb
Brooks La Salle
Cameron McCulloch
Crosby Marion
Dimmit Maverick
Duval Presidio
Edwards Real
El Paso Reeves
Falls Robertson
Floyd San Augustine
Frio Starr
Hall Uvalde
Hidalgo Val Verde
Houston Webb
Hudspeth Willacy
Jim Wells Zapata
Karnes Zavala
State Persistently Poor Counties
West Virginia Braxton Lincoln
Calhoun McDowell
Clay Mingo
Gilmer Webster